Hurricane

Warning: This will be full of contradictions, sweeping statements and crap.

Oh the relationship and emotional turmoils these days. No. Not petty romantic issues that no one but your "best friend" would want to gossip about. The one we (Transition students) have been confronting are much bigger, important-er.

Fitting in with people our age.

Are you still in contact with your friends? Do you have any idea what is going on in the high school you were "supposed" to go to? Do you still fit in? Do you still place as much emphasis as they do on certain things?

I don't. I never did. Perhaps more so before than I do right now. though The new TNA jacket, Lululemon sweatpants, Guess jeans? (Different things for different people / gender). I never cared much. Of course I care about my appearance. Duh. I'm still a girl. But...weighing spending 30 minutes to paint my face and do my hair each morning and sleeping in, I would definitely pick sleep.

Maybe it was the way I was brought up, educated and influenced in my family.

But I never hated it either. I didn't prefer. Hearing what I hear about high school now, though, I think I do. Listening to a certain kitty, I caught that her friend ranted for a whole hour about how ugly she thinks kitty's boyfriend is. Wow. Shallow much? No. He's not handsome. But is looks all that matters in the dating field in HS?

Then, she went on to blabber about how "abnormal and ugly" Transies are. Is that what you really think? Because we don't dress in the latest fashion? Because half of us don't give much what we pull on in the morning? We don't bother to dress up?

How our fashion tastes different.

I dress bleh. I dress how I want to be comfortable. In old Costco sweatpants and a fluffed up sweater from the back of my mom's closet? And when I do bother, I wear dress pants and shirts? (Nope. I don't speak for everyone) While they dress in fashion I envy but would never take the time and spend the money to wear?

Oh how our perspectives differ. I wouldn't speak for everyone. But to me, what exam, lab and contest will be happening soon consume me. And no. Materialism doesn't dominate every soul in every high school. I have a friend who I think belongs more in Trans than in HS. I'm making a horrible sweeping statement. But from what I hear from my friends and their friends...I'm awfully worried.

Honestly speaking, which life would you choose? The one in high school, full of gossip, popularity, style and sports where you also get a ton of extracurricular? Or the one you lead in Trans...with its never-ending deadlines, homework assignments, exams, competitions and stress where you have "no life" and are labeled "abnormal" by others?

I pick the latter.

I choose the stress. Yeah. I have issues. Placing a 92% average to maintain and improve on my own shoulders. I love (and hate) the pressure to do well in future math contests because I did well on my first. I adore (and abominate) the beautiful competition my classmates provide. I have serious issues.

I choose the giant workload. Who likes staying up to 3 writing an "asinine" history essay (Chloe's word, not mine. Yet I love it) that stupid Dion caused? I hate it. Yet I appreciate the workload that Transition enjoys to see us suffer with. Preparation for university is one thing. The other is that it sucks as much out of me as I am able to give. It pushes me to the brink of my performance (when I want to just drop down dead, dig a hole and sleep). I love it. What do I accomplish when there isn't that much to achieve? Nothing. I rot away wasted.

I choose the skills it has taught me. Procrastination, a Transition tradition. Yup. The procrastination we do in the program taught us how to procrastiante, cram and study. With little time left after I have "rested and took a break" (cough-wasted-cough), I learned how to efficiently do my homework and cram last minute. Nope. Procrastination sucks. But hey, at least I'm learning to master it.

And the arrogance and humility that each of us have. We all get confident and show-offy when we "beat Karlming" and when we "top the class" in a Chemistry exam. And then we get slammed in the face and rediscover our humility. Wee. I love this cycle. Each time the wave slap us down, I believe each member of my class only stands up stronger. What doesn't kill you will only make you stronger, neh?

I even choose the evil teachers. Sure, Coops is an absolute devil for making a history essay due on the last day of school. So is Martin for making a Physics lab due on the Thursday, a week before Christmas. Mr. Zag's threat for a Hamlet exam and writings in that same week was horrible (and terrifying). But the fact that they give us this much homework and exams shows how much faith they have in us that we will achieve it all. Sometimes we don't. And we get bruised with an "Asian-phail" but uh...we all went through that. I love the teachers.

I choose because of the wonderful second family I have be bestowed with. Every single one of my classmates. Each unique (I plan to do some sorta blogging marathon about them), each adorable, each horrible. For the academic support, mental and emotional encouragements and competition. We failed, we strived and now we thrive. Together.

~ That was a long and nearly futile entry. Pahaha. Digressed into a confession about Trans. I get distracted so easily >_>

Then there are some personal emotional issues I have. But I don't feel like writing. And I doubt anyone would want to read. Happy Boxing Day everyone! I got quite an expensive haul. So much for bargain.

(Have I mentioned I got ABBA-poisoned by Mr. Coops?)

Scribbled by,
Joa @ 9:34 PM
9 cursed